About Us

The Nunavut Mining
Hall of Fame

The Nunavut Hall of Fame was established in 2016 to recognize excellence in the mining & exploration field in Nunavut. The Hall of Fame grew out of the annual Nunavut Mining Awards that are handed out annually at the Nunavut Mining Symposium.

The Hall of Fame recognizes not only current contributions to the sector but also the valuable historical contributions made. If you know of someone deserving of being inducted into the Hall of Fame, please let us know!

Every application is carefully reviewed and assessed on the merit of the contribution made to the industry in Nunavut. If inducted, the legacy of the person or organization’s contribution will be recognized on this website.

About the Nunavut Mining Awards

The NMS Awards are the only awards to recognize excellence in the mining and exploration industry in Nunavut. Each year, three awards are considered for review in the categories of Corporate, Individual and Government. The awards are handed out during the Nunavut Mining Symposium in front of the peers and colleagues of those being honoured. They are the only awards to recognize excellence in the mining and exploration industry in Nunavut. Nominations are sought from, and made by, those in the mining and exploration industry and each nomination is reviewed by a the Nunavut Mining Symposium Society Steering Committee. 

The criteria for each award is as follows:

Individual Award (formerly the Mike Hine Award)

  • To recognize an individual who has made significant contribution to the mining industry in Nunavut.
  • To recognize outstanding progress by a Nunavut employee in the mining industry.
  • To recognize student/school involvement in the mining industry.

Corporate Award (formerly the Murray Pyke Award)

  • To recognize the contribution on a mining, exploration, or related company to the economic/social development of a community, region or Nunavut in general.

Government/Organization Award 

  • To recognize the contribution of a government department, group, or organization to the advancement of the mining industry in Nunavut.
  • Can be presented to any level of government - Municipal, Territorial, Federal or Inuit.

Award History

Two of the awards were originally named after individuals who were instrumental in the early days of exploration in Nunavut. Murray Pyke was a prominent figure in minerals and petroleum exploration and spent many summers mapping the Canadian Precambrian Shield in northern Saskatchewan, the Northwest Territories and Nunavut.  He was a President of Comaplex Minerals. The award named in his honours recognizes a corporation that makes a significant contribution to advancing the mineral industry in Nunavut. Generally specific projects or large initiatives by businesses are what get recognized by this honour. 

Mike Hine was a geologist who worked with several organizations in Nunavut including Qikiqtaaluk Corporation and Aboriginal Affairs & Northern Development and the Chamber of Mines. The award named in his honour recognizes an individual who has made a significant contribution to mining in Nunavut as an employee in the industry or a student or as a service provider employee.